top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMax

Weekend of Jeep Wrenching: Success or Disappointment...


Its been a long time between posts and the big news is that we purchased another Jeep, a 1982 Jeep FSJ Cherokee (Wagoneer).


Last weekend I set out to achieve two tasks. Fix the oil and exhaust leaks.... I will spare you the finer details but with a set of gaskets (sump, rear main seal and exhaust manifold gaskets). I spent the weekend wrenching on the Jeep. Finished the job and both still leaked!!!


It's hard to put in words the level disappointment that washed over me at the end of what should have been a rewarding weekend wrenching on the Jeep. I know that working on old cars and trucks can be a roller coaster of success and failure, but come on, tell me you havent felt the same way when you finish a job and find out its not fixed.


Still defeated, Monday night I was back at it. Turns out the oil leak was just residual oil that I didn't properly clean off the crossmember. Off to a good start, I pulled the exhaust manifold off the left side of the engine and found the new gasket didn't line up and was leaking bad. Put it back together with an appropriate dose of copper RTV just to be sure it would seal. Waited patiently for the RTV cure for 24 hours. Started it up the next day with fingers crossed and the V8 burbled to life with a perfect engine note. No exhaust leaks, flawlessly quiet at the engine and the right sound at the tailpipe.


In perfect contrast to the disappointment that hit me on Sunday night, when I felt like I wasted the whole weekend. Everything was fixed and I had an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment!


If you're reading this as a car enthusiast, Jeeper or shadetree mechanic, I just remind you to take pleasure in both the highs and lows that come with working on your junk as its all part of the journey. Get your hands dirty and you will get it done right (Eventually).


If you like the Blog, please sign up or follow on Instagram @maxstephanidez


37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page